pasobarchi.blogg.se

Wd my passport for mac reviews
Wd my passport for mac reviews








wd my passport for mac reviews
  1. Wd my passport for mac reviews portable#
  2. Wd my passport for mac reviews software#
  3. Wd my passport for mac reviews plus#

Wd my passport for mac reviews portable#

So, if you want to store huge amounts of data while keeping prices low, a HDD is the way to go. Western Digital WD - My Passport for Mac - Unboxing & Review.I got a new portable hard drive for my photos and videos.

wd my passport for mac reviews

HDDs are also good for storing lots of data as they often have a high capacity. The only difference between the exterior of the My Passport Ultra and the My Passport for Mac is. An SSD is faster, lighter and less power-hungry, whereas an HDD drive will be cheaper and slower than an SSD. Best Buy has honest and unbiased customer reviews for WD - My Passport Ultra for Mac 4TB External USB 3.0 Portable Hard Drive - Silver. Accessories > Storage > Reviews > WD My. There are two types of external hard drive: hard disk drives (HDD, also known as mechanical or traditional hard drives) or solid state drives (SSD).

wd my passport for mac reviews

The rectangular USB-A ports are slowly being replaced by the newer, smaller reversible USB-C ports, found in all newer generation Macs and PCs. Other important information to consider before making a purchase is the hard drive's connectivity. But if you want to store lots of large video and/or RAW files, or you want to use your external hard drive for housing games, investing in few more terabytes is a good idea. Even though many come in massive multi-terabyte iterations, 500GB is plenty to get you started. When choosing the right one for you, foremost on your mind should be its storage capability.

Wd my passport for mac reviews software#

The drive’s performance is on par with the rest of the competition, and its software bundle is useful.WD My Passport deals: Which model to buy? WD’s My Passport external 2.5-inch USB 3.0 hard drive is now available in up to 5TB in capacity, which means you can stuff even more data in your pocket than with the last iteration. So if you want to use USB 3 you need the silver Mac version. It lacks hardware encryption and the three-year warranty, but is more than likely to pack the same hard drive as the My Passport Ultra.Īll in all, consider the My Passport Ultra if you want the lengthy three-year warranty and absolutely need a Type-C connector. Theres an important difference between these WD drives apart from formatting and colour, which theluggage alluded to - My Passport for Mac works with USB 2 and 3 My Passport Studio works with FireWire 800 and USB 2. Then there’s the other more affordable WD portable hard disk drive, the 4TB Elements, which retails for a smidgen under $100.

Wd my passport for mac reviews plus#

Plus the Seagate drive comes with a two-month complementary membership to the Adobe Creative Cloud Photography Plan worth $20. In a mature market where the upper limit for portable hard disk drives seems to be 4TB – we tested one of this size back in 2015! – there’s little need or desire to innovate, with pricing becoming the sole metric these drives are judged on.Īgainst the likes of the Seagate Expansion, which costs 25% less, the lure of a three-year warranty and a Type-C connector might be diminished. With a three-year warranty by default, a useful set of utilities, a reasonable retail price and decent performance, the WD My Passport Ultra 4TB (2019) marginally improves on an already good product. The WD My Passport Ultra does get relatively warm in use and produces an audible hum (about 48dB if you put your ear to it – not that you’re likely to do that, of course). Our standard 10GB test file was transferred in just under 100 seconds, making this one of the slowest drives we’ve tested recently. We don’t know the cache capacity, but what we can observe is that it generally performs worse compared to the G-Tech 2TB mobile USB-C drive, which is likely to contain a 2TB single platter version of this drive. 5) WD Original USB 3,0 1Tb WDBYVG0010BBK-WESN. What we know is that this hard disk drive has 5,400RPM platters, probably two of them, each with a 2TB capacity, hence the increased thickness. 4) HDD Western Digital My Passport for Mac 4 TB Blue WDBA2F0040BBL-WESN. You can buy it (WD40NMZM) from eBay, but it will cost four times the price of the WD My Passport Ultra 4TB portable drive – the laws of supply and demand at work! This storage solution uses an OEM drive that’s not available on the open market – WD’s laptop drives have a maximum capacity of 2TB. The WD My Passport Edge for Mac has it all for those who want a thin, durable hard drive to use on the go - great design, sturdy build and value-add software. Here’s how the WD My Passport Ultra 4TB performed in our benchmark tests:ĬrystalDiskMark: 127MBps (read) 124MBps (write)Ītto: 130MBps (read, 256mb) 122MBps (write, 256mb)ĪS SSD: 122MBps (seq read) 113MBps (seq write) Performance










Wd my passport for mac reviews